The beginning

Well here is my first post and the first post for our blog. Welcome. Over the last year I have become an avid reader of various maths blogs  but haven’t come across one covering research in my corner of the mathematical world. After much discussion and dreaming, John, Gordon and I have finally taken the plunge and decided to start one ourselves.  Hopefully between the three of us we will  have something interesting to say.

To get the ball rolling  I should start with a bit about my research.  My main area of interest is permutation groups. This includes various areas of combinatorics,  in particular questions involving automorphism groups of structures. So far these have mainly been graphs but it is starting to involve a bit of finite/incidence geometry.  I guess I’m  interested in anything with a decent group involved.

Leave a Reply

Up ↑

